The Elephant Walk – Cambodian Fusion

900 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02215

www.elephantwalk.com (617) 247.1500

*Not too far from Kenmore Square on the corner of Park St and Beacon St.

Seth & Ren, +2 Guests

  • –Drinks–
  • Bottle of Brut D’Argent
  • Spyglass
  • Italian Manhattan x2
  • Wormtown IPA
  • Shots x4
  • –Plates–
  • Avocat Kanthor
  • Rouleaux
  • Leah Chah
  • Watermelon Salad
  • Amok Royal
  • Loclac
  • Khar Saiko Kroeung
  • Duck Wonton
  • –Dessert–
  • La Peche au Chocolate
  • Tarte Chocolate au Caramel
  • Mousse aux Fruits de la Passion
  • $258.35 w/tax ($108.10 in Drinks)

Average Price/Person: $30-40 w/ drinks: $40-60

*Note: Elephant Walk offers a Prefix Menu all year, tonight 2 of us decided to go with the prefix menu.

Makeda:  As Seth is too busy writing a paper this week for grad school, I will be guest writing for this post.  We were in the mood for something different, so why not Cambodian French fusion, a combination I would never think of pairing. I studied the menu heavily and made my selection before I even entered the restaurant.  When we arrived we were greeted and seated quickly, and started with a bottle of wine.  Elephant Walk has an unexpectedly casual atmosphere, which made for an enjoyable dinner.  If I had any question of how I would feel about Cambodian flavors, they were immediately erased with the first bite of my appetizer; perfect chunks of tuna mixed with creamy avocado, chopped peanuts added a necessary crunch.  A sampling of Seth’s watermelon goat cheese Salad also did not disappoint, the sweet crisp melon complemented the creamy goat cheese perfectly.  Keeping the seafood theme, I followed with a traditional Cambodian dish, described as seafood custard.  Wrapped in a banana leaf and steamed in coconut milk, I devoured every bite of the perfectly cooked seafood inside.  The coconut milk added creaminess without being too heavy.  As is custom I had a sampling of everyone’s entrées, tender duck with bites of caramelized pear left quite an impression, as did the braised short-rib. And then dessert, I finished the night off with the chocolate caramel tart, it was perfect.  A close runner-up was the fruit mouse, almost a palate cleanser it was tangy and just enough sweet.  I will definitely be back at Elephant Walk again; there are still so many things on the menu I need to try. My Favorite Thing: The tuna avocado salad!

Ren: A search for a cuisine we hadn’t tried yet led us to Elephant Walk. A Cambodian French fusion restaurant located near Fenway. We were feeling in a particularly celebratory mood so we decided to start the evening off with a bottle of rose Brut. Which was followed by a round of shots and tasty cocktails making for a very excellent evening. For my appetizer I had spring rolls followed by mussels. Both were incredibly tasty and well prepared with a flavorful dipping sauce and a delightful broth with a kick. Makeda  had a tuna avocado salad appetizer salad which was refreshing and surprisingly flavorful which we all loved. For my entrée I had a pepper caramelized steak over lettuce with white rice. The flavor profile was a great idea and tasty but I found the steak to be slightly over cooked. If it had been cooked just a little bit less I think it would have been much better. John’s short ribs were tender as was Seth’s duck; definitely worth a try. I didn’t get a dessert but I tried a bite of everyone else’s which while a bit to sweet for me were all delicious. The caramel tart was definitely the best of the three. All in all it was a really pleasant evening worth a repeat visit. My favorite thing: a tie between the mussels and the spring rolls.

Food: Ren 8 Makeda 9 Food Average: 8.5 *Certified Dericious* Very tasty and original food combinations with an unfortunate misstep on Ren’s steak

Decor/Atmosphere: Ren 7 Makeda 7 An average looking place with an upbeat atmosphere. Nothing terribly memorable

Service: Ren 8.5 Makeda 8 Other than a slip-up with improper glasses for the Brut, the waitress was friendly and fun. She knew the menu and interacted with our table well.

Total Average: 7.917 We’ll be back here again. The food and service stood out enough to warrant another trip sometime soon. Maybe date night.

One bad thing: Ren’s steak was overcooked and a little dry

Leave a Reply

