Hungry Mother – Southern Comfort

233 Cardinal Medeiros Ave. Cambridge, MA 02141

www.hungrymothercambridge.com (617) 499-0090

*A couple blocks from Hampshire St and Broadway. Near Kendall Sq Cinema

Seth & Ren, +1 guest

  • –Drinks–
  • Stirred cocktail
  • Vieux Carre cocktail
  • Meadowlark IPA x2
  • Old Monk cocktail
  • Gin Mule
  • –Plates–
  • Duck liver pate
  • Bluefish croquettes
  • Stube Ranch Wagyu beef with creamed corn and blackened arrowhead cabbage x2
  • Grilled Striped Bass with fried green tomato and summer squash
  • Bacon and Sweetbread skewers with tomato and chimichurri (free tasting)
  • –Deserts–
  • Chocolate cream pie with whipped cream and caramel sauce
  • $166.39 w/ tax ($50.50 in Drinks)

Average Price/Person: $30-40 w/Drinks: $40-60

Seth: On a rainy Friday afternoon we finally made our way to hungry mother.  Ren and I finally accepted a 45 minute wait and it was worth it.  I arrived first and put in out name, and Ren and john arrived minutes later.  Once we were sat we figured out our cocktails pretty quick and got to ordering.  We started with an appetizer of duck liver pate, which was tasty but perhaps not as rich as I would have liked. The blue fish croquettes on the other hand were absolutely phenomenal.  While were waiting for out  entrées, the chef brought us out a free tasting of sweet bread and bacon skewers with a chimichurri sauce.  I’m pretty sure this is my first experience with sweet bread and paired with the tomato and bacon, I’m now a fan.  Ren and I couldn’t resist ordering the same entrée this week, as one cannot turn down wagyu beef.  I’m glad I went ahead with this as the beef was tender and perfectly cooked.  It came with a nice cream corn and blackened cabbage that added the proper contrast to the dish.  Somewhere in there we ordered a second round of drinks.  I followed up my first cocktail with an IPA.  As is mandatory, we picked out a dessert to share, decided on the chocolate pie with the  caramel sauce.   I was completely full and could only have one bite, but it was sweet and moist and tasty.  Hungry Mother has an ever revolving menu, so I will absolutely be here again.  As a note: be sure to make reservations in advance. My favorite thing: That incredible cut of beef.

Ren: Hungry Mother equals taste bud bliss! Me and Seth have been meaning to go here for quite sometime and a visit with a friend finally prompted a visit. Joined by my boyfriend we set off on a journey of delectable proportions. We commenced with a few tasty beverages from the bar. My Vieux Carré was excellently made as was every concoction we ordered; especially a taste of a Corpse Reviver variation invented by the bartender. The round of sumptuous taste relievers was followed by an appetizer of pâté and shortly after by an appetizer of blue fish croquettes. The pâté was tasteful but not quite as rich as I would have like it to be. The croquettes, however, were incredibly flavorful and well-balanced. The chef  then sent us a taste of sweet bread paired with bacon and tomato to tease our taste buds and prepare us for our entrées that followed which were mind-blowing! My boyfriends striped bass, Seth’s and my Wagyu steak were all cooked to perfection. Everything simply melted in our mouths. My steak was well paired with a creamed corn and a side of cabbage. We topped the evening off with a smooth and tasty chocolate pie with coffee whipped cream and caramel sauce. Two words: go here! We had an amazing experience and I am definitely going back whenever I am in the area. My favorite thing: my out of this world Wagyu steak with the creamed corn.

Food: Seth 8.5 Ren 8.75 Food Average: 8.625 *Certified Dericious* Tasty, well done, intelligent southern inspired comfort food

Decor/Atmosphere: Seth 8.5 Ren 8.5 Cute little place with nice wood tables and a good crowd. Everyone seemed so pleased to be here

Service: Seth 8.5 Ren 9 Excellent service. Napkins folded when you step away. Knowledgeable of the menu and doing their job well.

Total Average: 8.625 A place we’ve been meaning to get to and it was worth the wait. Cute place, well thought out delicious food. Check this place out. *Make reservations a week in advance.*

One bad thing: The pate I guess was a little drier and less rich than I was hoping for. Not bad per say but have to  find something to put here.

Leave a Reply

