Cafe Polonia – Polish Comfort

611 Dorchester Ave. South Boston, MA 02127

www.cafepolonia.com (617) 269-0110

*On Dorchester Ave, a block south of the Andrew T station

Seth & Ren, +2 guests

  • –Drinks–
  • Black Currant juice
  • Zywiec beer
  • Zywiec Porter
  • Sauvignon Blanc 
  • –Plates–
  • Bacon wrapped sea scallops
  • Smoked Salmon with Russian caviar
  • Breast of Duck w/ asparagus, potato medallions and cranberry sauce
  • Pierogi (half with blended meat, half potato and cheese) fried w/ caramelized onions
  • Pierogi (potato and cheese) fried w/ sour cream
  • Polish plate w/ Hunter’s stew, 3 pierogis, stuffed cabbage and grilled keilbasa
  • –Dessert–
  • Chocolate Babka cake filled with melted chocolate
  • $111.28 w/ tax ($20 in Drinks)

Ave Price/Person: $15-20 w/ Drinks: $20-25

Seth: A place Ren had been before and a cuisine we haven’t put here on this blog was enough to get us over to South Boston for some comfort style Polish food. We walked in to a small welcoming family owned looking place and were sat at some nice raw wood style bench tables. We took a look at the menu and John and I started with some Polish beers. For appetizers we got the smoked salmon with russian caviar that was really nice and some bacon wrapped scallops that I think had more bacon than scallop (though I wasn’t complaining). The bread we got before those came with a bacon fat spread that for any pork lover out there was a dream. For entrees, Makeda and John got the pierogis that I thought, from the bites I had were pretty nice. The caramelized onions added a little something. Ren had that duck that was done well but not outstanding. I was happiest with my own plate which was something of a sampler. It came with stuffed cabbage that had a nice creamy sauce on it, a few of my own pierogis and that grilled keilbasa that was phenomenal. I was completely full after, but we couldn’t very well leave without trying a dessert. We ordered on Chocolate Babka cake to split that was exceptionally rich. I think the girls had a bit more of it. The service was pretty average over all but I liked the atmosphere of the place. I would probably come back here again for that keilbasa and maybe to try out a few more of the traditional dishes. My favorite thing: The grilled keilbasa.

Ren: Best suited as a cold weather destination the hearty Polish fare from Café Polonia tempted us with promises of bacon butter and delicious perogies. I have been to this restaurant once before and found the food good enough to return with my brother and or significant others in tow for a review. The waiter immediately brought us bread with bacon butter: a promising start. We then ordered a round of drinks. I picked a Sauvignon Blanc which to my dismay the waiter replied with ‘which one was that’? (There only about eight wines on the menu). It seems to me with such a small selection he would at least know the types of wines, though to be fair I am sure they sell mostly beer here. We paired our round of drinks with an order of bacon wrapped scallops and salmon with caviar. I loved the scallops, with its crispy bacon shell, really how could you go wrong? The salmon and caviar were a little salty for me but my dining mates seemed to heartily enjoy the dish. For my entrée I chose the duck breast with asparagus, cranberry sauce, beets, and homemade thick cut potatoes chips. The chips were a little plain and the rest of the dish was fairly good tasting with no particular flair or stand out flavors. Our significant others ordered pierogis which were delicious. I was surprised by how sweet the cheese pierogis which were almost dessert like in flavor. If you  tend towards the savory I definitely suggest getting  meat or adding potatoes to the them. My Brother ordered a sampler dish which consisted of one of the most delicious items Café Polonia serves: kielbasa! Next time I go I will order this as my main dish and perhaps even the kielbasa appetizer which I recalled later was one of the more delicious experiences of my previous visit.  We finished the meal with their molten chocolate cake which even though I don’t have much of a sweet tooth was delicious and is a must for the end of any experience at this restaurant. My favorite thing: the kielbasa: to bad I only had a bite.

Food: Seth 7.5 Ren 7 Food Average: 7.25 Kielbasa stood out. The pierogis were pretty good. Most everything was average. Don’t get us wrong; we enjoyed the food but no real standouts

Decor/Atmosphere: Seth 8 Ren 8 Cute little place. Copper pots on the walls and raw wood chairs. Feels like it could almost be some Polish mother’s kitchen.

Service: Seth 7 Ren 6.5 Our server meant well, but made a few mistakes including with our food and wasn’t sure what Ren meant when she said she wanted a Sauvignon Blanc!? Good attitude and was trying.

Total Average: 7.333 It’s the only Polish place I know of and I would recommend it. A good average cute place that’s worth a visit.

One bad thing: Perhaps the missteps with our pierogis. Makeda wanted the fried potato and cheese ones and she got the boiled cheese only ones first. Our server fixed it pretty quick though

Leave a Reply

