Punjab Palace – Excellent Indian

109 Brighton Ave. Allston, MA 02134

www.punjabpalace.com (617) 254-1500

*In Allston, a block east from the Intersection of Harvard St and Brighton Ave

Seth & Ren

  • –Drinks–
  • Chimay Blue
  • Old Monk 10,000
  • –Plates–
  • Vegetable Samosa
  • Lamb Marsala
  • Goat Marsala
  • Garlic Naan x2
  • –Desserts–
  • Kheer (Rice dessert)
  • $58.90 w/ tax ($12.45 in Drinks)

Ave. Price/Person: $15-25 w/ Drinks: $20-35

Seth: I’m always a fan of finding new places to try Indian food. This is the cuisine we wanted this week and I’ve had this place on my list for some time. On a gorgeous early spring day, Ren and I took my motorcycle out to Allston to check it out. The space is nice when you walk in. Not too big, it had a warm, clean feel to it. Not overly polished but nice at the same time. I was impressed my the beer list right off and liked what I saw in terms of pricing. Ren and I both started with a nice beer and ordered the vegetable samosas to start. I probably would have ordered meat ones if they had them but these were delicious. They brought out that traditional crispy bread with the three dipping sauces before them, but one of the sauces accompanied the flaky crust of the samosa nicely. For entrées with both got Marsala, which is a creamy tomato curry sauce. Ren with the goat and myself with the lamb. I really enjoy lamb and I’ve too often had it over cooked or dried out. Not here! It was delicious and tender and perfectly cooked. I asked before hand what level of spicy they cooked with. Most Indian places tame down the level of spice for the uninitiated american palate but, once again, not here. I ordered medium spicy and it was perfect. A full-bodied level of spicy that didn’t take over the flavor but had me sweating just a little by the time I was finishing my meal. We ordered two servings of garlic naan as we are both big fans. We didn’t quite finish it all but it was so good I’m glad we ordered the extra. Big pieces of crushed garlic baked into the bread. So good! The service was great throughout and we kept one eye on the TV showing some hilarious Bollywood music videos. We closed out the meal with the rice dessert kheer and were on our way with some leftovers and very satisfied. My favorite thing: The exquisitely cooked lamb marsala.

Ren: Strange weather patterns bring early warmth and an excursion to Punjab Palace on the recently storage freed motorcycle. A quiet little eatery welcomed us with smells of curry, the sounds of non stop Bollywood productions, and decent display of alcoholic proportions.  From the display I chose a quite reasonably priced Chimay blue and we started out with a plate of samosa’s: a dish we tend to favor as a precursor to our meal whenever it is on a menu. Being a little wary on the state of juiciness of the lamb, due to previously dry experiences, I ordered the goat masala paired with an order of garlic naan. The flavors and creaminess of this dish literally blew me away. It is one of the better masala dishes I have ever ordered. The naan stuffed with whole cloves of garlic was a perfect way to scoop the delicious masala. My dinning companion ordered the lamb masala and I’ll have to say the lamb was cooked perfectly and literally melted in my mouth. The waiter seemed to be surprised by my interest in both the chimay and goat: an interesting reaction. His attentiveness and desire to please was a treat compared to our last Indian experience. We ended the meal with one of my favorite desserts ever: the delicious kheer. My favorite thing: everything! But I guess I have to pick one so I’ll go with the creamy masala.

Food: Seth 8.5 Ren 8.5 Food Average: 8.5 *Certified Dericious* This was really good Indian food. Everything we had, was well cooked and solid

Decor/Atmosphere: Seth 8 Ren 8 Nice, clean little place. Seats maybe 25-30. Nothing too fancy but all nicely done. Cool touch with the TV playing non-stop Bollywood.

Service: Seth 8 Ren 8.5 Good service. There when we needed him, took the plates when they were dirty. Was accommodating with our requests on how to pay and how to pack the leftovers.

Total Average: 8.250 Good place to go if your craving some above average Indian food, with a decent beer selection and good service.

One bad thing: Neither of could really think of something. No visible missteps

Leave a Reply

