Fish Market – Favorite Sushi

170 Brighton Ave. Allston, MA 02134

www.fishmarketsushibar.com (617) 783-1268

*In Allston, a block from the intersection of Brighton Ave and Harvard St

Seth & Ren, +2 guests

  • –Drinks–
  • One pot of Genmai Green tea w/ 3 cups
  • –Plates–
  • Miso soup x2
  • Seaweed salad
  • Sashimi Salad
  • Salmon sashimi
  • Flying Fish roe maki piece
  • Toro tempura flakes sashimi
  • Toro tempura flakes sushi w/ one quail egg(yum!)
  • Alligator maki – shrimp tempura topped with eel, flying fish roe, avocado, scallion, eel sauce
  • Seared tuna maki – flying fish roe, tempura flakes, cucumber, spicy mayo topped with seared tuna, eel sauce, tabasco, spicy radish, chives
  • Eel maki – eel, cucumber, avocado, eel sauce
  • Dragon Eye maki – salmon, wasabi flying fish roe, japanese basil wrapped with cucumber & squid dressed in ponzu sauce
  • Yellowtail Truffle maki – shrimp tempura, cucumber, spicy mayo topped with yellowtail, truffle salt, truffle peelings, chives
  • Yaki Udon noodle w/ beef
  • Takoyaki – Fried diced octopus and tempura croquettes w/ spicy mayo and bonito flakes
  • –Dessert–
  • Deep-fried vanilla ice cream
  • $124.22 w/ tax ($3.00 in drinks)

Ave Price/Person: $15-40 w/ Drinks: Only a few dollars more as there is just soda and tea for now. (They’re working on a liquor license)

Seth: I really love sushi. I think given the time and money I would eat it once a week. And for your money, this is the best I’ve had in Boston. I’ve actually eaten here close to 20 times, literally. Ever since someone introduced me to this place almost two years ago I’ve made a point to take everyone I know here. It’s a great date location too!! Though we didn’t get it this trip here, I do have to mention the avocado ball appetizer. On a first trip here, this is a must. Thin slices of avocado wrapped around a mix of chopped chunks of tuna and aioli; so tender and tasty! On to our actual food we ordered. For this dinner, we actually ordered separately as two couples. There was some trying across the table but I’ll mainly be writing about what my guest and I ordered. First off, the sashimi salad and the miso soup. This salad is another must try. A large bowl, full of greens and probably about a 1/2 lb. of cut up various sushi. (Pictured left) From tuna to salmon to squid. All topped of with a zesty lemon aioli. The miso soup here is delicious. As sushi eaters can attest, for such a common simple soup, the quality can vary greatly from place to place. Three rolls and our sashimi followed timely. We got the Dragon Eye maki, which was bright and crunchy with good flavors accompanying the salmon in it. The Yellowtail truffle maki is a favorite of mine. The truffle has such an earthy bold flavor the closes out the smoothness of the firm, mild fish. The last roll was a more simple eel, avocado, cucumber roll but is no less tasty. After salmon, eel may be my favorite sushi meat choice. My guest at the flying fish roe maki and I had the toro tempura crumb sashimi. I always love some toro (tuna) and this was no exception. Mixed with tempura crumbs and finely chopped, this is incredibly rich, smooth and unbelievably scrumptious. As is my tradition, I close out my sushi meal with a piece of salmon sashimi. Always smooth, always buttery, this firm fish is a welcome finish to an awesome meal. My favorite thing: The toro sashimi piece. (Pictured above, middle of the plate)

Ren: This week we returned to Fish Market, an old favorite restaurant destination of ours, figuring it was definitely time to critique another sushi spot. Fish Market, a classy hole in the wall,  is a bit of a hike up into Allston that currently is acquiring a liquor license. Despite the draw backs it is worth the journey for their fresh delectable seafood and friendly sushi chefs. I would have liked to begin my meal with a hot glass of Saki but I appeased my taste buds with miso soup and seaweed salad; a favorite of mine.  I just love the crispness and healthy nature of this delightful salad. I followed with a Toro sashimi  topped with a quail egg and mixed with tempura crumbs. I think I prefer Toro by itself  as the tempura seems to take away from the rich heavenly flavor. I was also a little perturbed when, thinking sashimi came in two portions, asked the server to put a quail egg on only one and he failed to mention there was only one portion. Up next was a tummy warming steamed beef  and udon (a thick Japanese wheat-flour noodle). It was very flavorful while remaining not too rich and giving you a feeling as though you are putting something nourishing and nutritious into your system; a feat not easily mastered as I have had very plain tasting udon in the past. Next up was the Alligator and seared tuna maki rolls both extremely scrumptious; yet the Alligator roll won out as most as most flavorful as it contained my favorite sushi ingredient: eel. Just when we were finishing up I discovered they were serving Takoyaki croquettes as a special appetizer and I knew we had to order it. I had this once before and it was an incredible treat (It is also topped with fresh bonito flakes: shaved fish scales that appear alive when combined with liquid). I was a little disappointed with the Takoyaki here as it wasn’t as crisp or flavorful and it was too soft in the center (I hear good Takoyaki is extremely hard to find). My taste buds were saved by finishing up this meal with some fried vanilla ice cream. Conclusion: If you love sushi Fish Market is a must add to your list of restaurants to check out. My favorite thing: The Alligator roll and the seaweed salad.

Food: Seth 9 Ren 8.5 Food Ave: 8.75 *Certified Dericious* I think this may be the best sushi I’ve ever had!

Service: Seth 7.5 Ren 6 Good average service

Decor/Atmosphere: Seth 8 Ren 7 Cute, little sushi bar. A bar that sits eight and 4 tables. Bar is great for watching the sushi chefs at work

Total Average: 7.667 This place is serious enough about the quality of their sushi that they’re closed on Mondays. With people unfamiliar with the food industry, fish deliveries are not made on Mondays and they’re waiting for the fresh delivery on Tuesday. Best sushi in Boston. Come check it out!

One bad thing: No alcohol

One thought on “Fish Market – Favorite Sushi

  1. Pingback: Mmmmmm Monday « Elle's Musings

Leave a Reply

