Deep Ellum – Drink Den

477 Cambridge St. Allston, MA 02134

www.deepellum-boston.com (617) 787-2337

*In Union Sq. in Allston, near the intersection of Cambridge St and Brighton Ave.

Seth & Ren, +3 guests

  • –Drinks–
  • Orval (Abbey Pale Ale)
  • Hot Old Fashioned
  • Jack D’or
  • Beer of the Gods
  • Black Market (Gin cocktail)
  • Barrel Aged Cocktail
  • Flagraiser (IPA)
  • Blood and Sand
  • Irish coffee w/ Baileys
  • –Plates–
  • Truffeled Gorgonzola Fries
  • Root Beer Braised Pork Belly w/ parsnip puree and apple-fennel slaw
  • Fried Calamari
  • Coffee Braised Lamb Shank w/ aged cheddar polenta, mustard greens, and toasted pistachios x3
  • Chicken Schnitzel w/ braised red cabbage and apples, and fingerling potatoes
  • French Onion Soup
  • –Dessert–
  • Caramel Eggnog Cream Tart x2
  • $217.86 w/ tax ($80 in Drinks)

Seth: As you all know, I love beer. And in a place a bit like the Publick House, this one has a great selection. There’s also quite a few classic and newer cocktails and a great little menu. The three appetizers were all delicious. From the truffle oil Gorgonzola fries (which is just one of the 4 varieties they have) to the delicious(!) root beer braised pork belly and the crispy, well cooked Calamari. Also, that apple-fennel slaw that came with the pork belly was bright and delicious. For the entrees, three of us we too excited about the lamb to not order a few other things. It ended up, we probably should have. The lamb was cooked well, but the sauce used was either not executed properly or it needs some change. I wanted it to be better but it just wasn’t quite there. On top of that the mustard greens were not good. I did get a bite of the french onion soup, which was really good. Also, I snuck a piece of the chicken schnitzel, which was really nicely done with great flavor. We closed out the dinner with a caramel egg nog cream dish that was a good finish. I like this place. I think the drink selection alone is enough to come back for. A great place for a drink and a snack. Especially once that back deck opens back up this spring. My favorite thing: Of course the  pork belly!

Ren: This weeks dining escapades brought us back to Deep Ellum; a restaurant that was high on our must return to list because of an extraordinary dish we had there ( a confit pork belly on a bed of corn grits). To our dismay it was no longer on the menu; however we enjoyed our previous experience enough to add it to our blogging adventures. I’ll have to say right off the bat I will only return when the patio is open again. While being a cozy atmosphere I think I much preferred to sit on there patio where it is a little less cramped. My first drink, The Hornets Nest, I wasn’t particularly pleased with as it mostly tasted like watered wiskey with a touch of bitters. I don’t like to return drinks ever as I feel once you have ordered it, it’s your; however I really wanted to enjoy this dining experience and I was fortunate that the manager was more attentive than our server and allowed me to order a new drink, The Black Market, which was a much better executed drink. I would have liked to see the server ask me if I like the new drink, but the question was never asked. The appetizers that followed were probably my favorite part of the meal: fried calamari, root beer braised pork belly on a parsnip and fennel salad, and gorgonzola truffle fries. The pork belly is prepared excellently; juicy and tender with a crispy top makes for a dish that is simply to die for and my reason for ever returning to Deep Ellum (as well as there truffle fries). I split the french onion soup and coffee braised lamb shank for dinner. Both were delicious but could have been better. The soup needed more cheese and the lamb dish just wasn’t quite tender enough and didn’t taste enough like coffee; not to mention the mustard greens on the plate were too salty and over cooked. It was a decent enough experience but I as I said I probably won’t come back until there patio is open again. My favorite thing: The pork belly!

Ave Price/Person: $15-30 w/ Drinks: $25-45

Food: Seth 7.5 Ren 7 Food Ave: 7.25 Very good appetizers, a little disappointed with the Lamb Shank and the mustard greens.

Service: Seth 7.5 Ren 7 Good service. Made a few recommendations

Decor/Atmosphere: Seth 8 Ren 7.5 Nice little bar. A lot of dark wood. The lighting was fairly dim. Though not open now for the winter, there is an awesome little know back deck that is perfect on a summer day.

Total: 7.416 Great beer list, good cocktails and some good food options.

One bad thing: The mustard greens were just bad. Overcooked and not properly cleaned

Leave a Reply

