Mom’s House – Thanksgiving Dinner

Amherst, NH 03031

*In Amherst, NH at my Mother’s house

Seth & Ren, + 21 guests

-Special Thanksgiving Post-

  • Brined and Deep Fried Turkey
  • Stuffing
  • Orange and regular Cranberry sauce
  • Green Bean Casserole
  • Dinner Rolls
  • Hawaiian Salad
  • Sweet Potato Casserole
  • Mashed Potatoes with paprika
  • Gravy
  • Waldorph salad
  • Squash soup
  • Various sliced cheeses w/ crackers
  • Doritos and French Onion Dip
  • Cheesecake
  • Pumpkin Cheesecake
  • Cherry Pie
  • Apple Pie
  • Chocolate Pecan Pie
  • Cheese Custard Pie
  • Pumpkin Pie
  • Coffee
  • Eggnog
  • Mulled Cider

Seth: There’s nothing better than spending time with family. Except, perhaps, if that includes a lot of delicious food. This week, instead of our normal new restaurant, it was a trip up to New Hampshire with the immediate family and a bunch of cousins, uncles and aunts. For this meal we all split up food responsibilities. Ren and I took care of the turkey. I bought a nice 20 pounder a few days early, made a homemade brine and soaked it over night. The morning of I gave it an olive oil rub and brought it and the supplies up to NH. For anyone who has never deep-fried a turkey before, you should start planning to do this by next year. A 20 lb bird cooked in just over an hour and it’s the best, most moist meat you’ll ever have. So the turkey went over great, the mashed potatoes were done just right, slathered in butter of course. We all had heaping plates of food and sat around the living room talking and enjoying everyone’s cooking and company. Another amazing year and an amazing meal. Can’t wait for next year. Thank you so much Mother for hosting and cooking all you did. My Favorite Thing: My amazing family.

Ren: My mother’s place: where I first developed my love for food. From an early age I was in the kitchen with my mother, friends, or family tinkering with flavor combinations and learning to appreciate the process in which it takes to put a meal on the table. Once it got to the table it was met with good company and conversation; not to mention countless memories. It seems only fitting then to do this weeks blog on my families thanksgiving dinner as a salute to where my love for food came from and to those who were there along the way. As soon as we arrived at my mom’s there was an array of drinks and food welcoming us in and tiding us over until dinner. I started off with some ranch Doritos and French onion dip a combination I stubbed upon a while back. I followed that with a rich creamy squash soup and some warm mulled cider while my brothers deep-fried the turkey in the back yard. Only a short hour and a half later and some excellent conversations with family the spread was complete on the dining room table. Before digging in we went around the room and shared what we were all thankful for. I said that I was thankful for a delicious array of food that we were able to afford and for the hands that prepared it. Everything was delightful the turkey tender, mashed potatoes coated with butter and gravy, crisp and crunchy green bean casserole; just to name a few. One of my favorite dishes was the sweet potato casserole. A short intermission and a mug of coffee later: eight different pies graced the table….too much sweet for me. I did manage some delicious pumpkin cheesecake. We left after dessert to catch the train with full bellies and satisfied grins. My Favorite thing: Spending time with my beloved family!

Average Price: Everyone brought a dish spreading out the cost. The Turkey cost about $30

Food: Seth & Ren agree that it was all dericious and a rating is not needed.

Service: N/A for this week

Decor/Atmosphere: My mother’s house is a lovely place and it was full of life, cheer and thankfulness this day.

Total: All around good time, dericious food, and lovely family and friends!

One thought on “Mom’s House – Thanksgiving Dinner

Leave a Reply

