Bukhara – Indian Bistro


701 Centre St. Jamaica Plain, MA 02130

http://www.bukharabistro.com/ (617) 522-2195

*On the main strip of Centre St before the monument

Seth and Ren, +1 guest

  • 2 Samosas (Meat filled pastry)
  • 1 Taj Mahal (Light Indian beer)
  • 1 Fresh lemonade
  • 1 Malbec Alberto
  • 1 Shrimp Curry
  • 1 Lamb Vindaloo
  • 1 Duck Masala
  • 2 Garlic Naan
  • 1 Kheer (Rice/milk based dessert)
  • $88.17 w/ tax

Seth: I have some mixed emotions about this place. To start, the food was really good. The somasas we got were some of the better I’ve had; with the crust soft and flaky and the meat seasoned nicely. The mint sauce that it came with accompanied it well. For the entrée, I got the shrimp curry (medium heat). The shrimp was cooked just right, and the level of spice was delicious. The garlic naan was soft and flavorful and perfect for dipping in the sauce that came with the entrée. I’ve never had kheer, but it closed out the meal well. I have mixed emotions because the service. Ren goes into detail more, but it negatively distracted the entire meal. My favorite thing: The samosa. Yum!

Ren: This place was perfectly suited to my needs this week as I had my wisdom teeth pulled a couple of hours prior to our dining experience. The samosas were delicious and perfectly paired with their version of sweet and sour sauce. They were however a little difficult for me to eat and I felt a little like a rabbit as I attempted to nibble on the delicious treat. The duck masala however was perfect in every way; soft and flavorful. I loved the way the kheer balanced my meal. I could have definitely eaten several orders of this decadent dessert. The service was so-so and I would have been prepared to give them an average rating. That is until the end of the service when our waiter came over to the table to drop the check and completely ignored all the plates on our table walking away with nothing in his hand until I reminded him we wanted a few of our dishes wrapped. I would say this is a perfect place for take out unless you don’t require much attention and order everything you want at the beginning of your meal. I also really dig the decisively Indian decor. My favorite thing: The duck masala. Flavorful delight!

Ave Price/Person: 15-25$ w/ Drinks: 20-30$ We did have a 40$ groupon for this today.

Food: Seth 8.5 Ren 8.5 Food Ave: 8.5  *Certified Dericious* (We’re going to start giving this award when our food ave score is 8.5 and above) This food was really good; this restaurants saving grace.

Service: Seth 5 Ren 3.5 Pretty terrible; not actively but more passively. They were not paying attention when they should, never took away a dish, and nothing extra in the way of improving the dining experience.

Decor/Atmosphere: Seth 8 Ren 7.5 Nicely put together. We liked the decorative entrance way. The atmosphere as a whole was well done. Ren really liked the drape covered light fixtures.

Total: 6.75 Without the service score the average would be 8.125. Translation: Take out or delivery.

One bad thing: The service.

One thought on “Bukhara – Indian Bistro

Leave a Reply

